business news in context, analysis with attitude

FMI-The Food Industry Association has announced the five recipients of the 2023 Store Manager Awards.

•  Category A (1-49 stores):  Wander Rezende, Roche Bros.

•  Category B (50-199 stores):  Sean Conlon, Giant Food

•  Category C (200+ stores):  Delton Schafer, Albertsons Companies

•  Category D (International):  John Fox, SPAR Northern Ireland/Henderson Group

•  People’s Pick Category:  Joel White, The Kroger Co. (King Soopers-City Market)

According to the announcement, the "four Grand Prize winners receive a crystal award and $1,000 each. The People’s Pick recipient is awarded a special trophy and $500 to celebrate their store employees."

Leslie G. Sarasin, FMI’s president-CEO, described the 2023 group as being "in a class of their own as they have maneuvered through post-pandemic challenges and shoppers’ changing behaviors, all while serving as pillars of their local communities and uplifting their workforce. It is an honor to recognize and celebrate them.”