business news in context, analysis with attitude

FMI-The Food Industry Association has announced the 12 finalists for the 2023 Store Manager Awards, culled from a record 175 nominations.

FMI says that "these outstanding store managers stood out from the crowd for their ability to generate sales growth; effectively communicate company and store goals and objectives; demonstrate team leadership in their store/company; provide exceptional customer service through in-store programs; and improve community relations."

The finalists are:

•  Category A (1-49 stores):

Greg Glisch, Skogen’s Festival Foods 

Kevin Perino, ShopRite Supermarkets, Inc. 

Wander Rezende, Roche Bros.

•  Category B (50-199 stores):

Sean Conlon, Giant Food

Brad Holt, Food City

Patty Kuehn, SpartanNash

•  Category C (200+ stores):

Anthony Gentry, Brookshire Grocery Company  

Delton Schafer, Albertsons Companies

Joel White, The Kroger Co. (King Soopers-City Market)

•  Category D (International):

Anton Bredenkamp, SPAR South Africa

Ana Esther Estupian Rodriguez, SPAR Gran Canaria

John Fox, SPAR Northern Ireland/Henderson Group

FMI says that from May 8 – 12 it will host "its People’s Pick category, during which we ask the public to vote for their favorite Store Manager Awards finalist. Winners from all four categories and the People’s Pick recipient will be announced during a live, virtual celebration on May 16 at 2:00 p.m. ET via FMI’s YouTube channel. Four Grand Prize winners receive a crystal award and $1,000 each. The People’s Pick recipient is awarded a special trophy and $500 to celebrate their store employees."