business news in context, analysis with attitude

The Food Marketing Institute has recognized Ed Crenshaw, the former Publix CEO and current chairman of the board with the organization's highest honor, the Rabb Award, citing him for "excellence in serving the consumer, the community and the industry."

At the same time, FMI honored Joe Colalillo, president of ShopRite of Hunterdon County, Inc. and chairman and CEO of Wakefern Food Corp., with FMI’s Wegman Award for "exercising entrepreneurial leadership in the design of retail strategies and imaginative merchandising."

And, FMI also recognized two executives with The Hershey Company - J.P. Bilbrey, president, CEO and chairman of the board, and Tom Joyce, retired vice president, global customer and industry affairs - with the William H. Albers Award, citing them for "excellence in trading partner relations and consumer and community service."

FMI also presented a series of Gold Plate Awards, recognizing retailers who were best-in-class at "encouraging shoppers to share more family meals together around the table ... by implementing innovative in-store and media campaigns."

Among the recipients, in a variety of categories: Skogen’s Festival Foods,K-VA-T Food Stores, Hy-Vee, Inc., Merchants Distributors Inc., Campbell Soup, and e-grocery provider Rosie Applications.

The awards were all handed out at the 2017 FMI Midwinter Executive Conference in Scottsdale, Arizona.
KC's View: